2018 News Release

June 18, 2018

Public Information Bureau (609) 882-2000
Major Brian Polite - ext. 6514
Lt. Theodore Schafer - ext. 6515
SFC Jeff Flynn - ext. 6516
Sgt. Lawrence Peele - ext. 6531
Tpr. Alejandro Goez - ext. 6527

FEMA and State Schedule Briefings On Disaster Assistance

West Trenton, NJ - New Jersey County and Municipal Emergency Management officials are invited to briefings which will explain the process of applying for Federal disaster assistance for debris removal, snow removal, emergency protective measures, and hazard mitigation in the wake of the severe winter storm and snowstorm which impacted Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic, and Somerset Counties during the period of March 06-07, 2018. Though the meetings are not open to the public, citizens will benefit from the assistance received by their individual counties to offset the financial impact of the storm. Federal and State disaster recovery officials announced today that briefings will take place as follows:

  Date Time Location
Bergen Thursday
June 28, 2018
10am - 12pm Bergen County Communications Center
285 Campgaw Road
Mahwah, NJ 07430
Essex Friday
June 22, 2018
10am - 12pm Essex County Police Academy
250 Grove Ave
Cedar Grove, NJ 07009
Morris Friday
June 22, 2018
10am -12pm Public Safety Training Academy
500 West Hanover Avenue
Parsippany, NJ 07054
Passaic Monday
June 25, 2018
10am - 12pm Passaic OEM
300 Oldham Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
Somerset Tuesday
June 19, 2018
1pm - 4pm Somerset County Fire Academy
402 Roycefield Road
Hillsborough, NJ 08844
State Agencies Thursday
June 21, 2018
9am - 12pm NJ Forensic Science Technology Center Auditorium
1200 Negron Drive
Hamilton, NJ 08691
State Agencies Monday
June 25, 2018
2pm - 4pm NJ Forensic Science Technology Center Auditorium
1200 Negron Drive
Hamilton, NJ 08691

“Every disaster New Jersey experiences is a learning opportunity. It also gives us the ability to enhance our policies and procedures,” said Major Louis Bucchere, Commanding Officer of the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management. “We have an obligation to ensure that federal, state, and local dollars are used responsibly. These briefings are conducted to educate county and local officials on the eligibility requirements, application development and reimbursement process to make them successful in providing assistance to their local communities.”

President Donald J. Trump has designated five (5) New Jersey counties eligible for disaster assistance: Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic, and Somerset counties. Of those counties, two (2) are eligible for snow assistance for a continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period on a cost-sharing basis: Bergen and Morris.

This Public Assistance grant declaration means that affected county and municipal governments are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities.

All counties in the State of New Jersey are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

For more information visit https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4368.

# # #

Follow the New Jersey State Police online at Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. The social media links provided are for reference only. The New Jersey State Police do not endorse any non-governmental websites, companies or applications.

Open Public Records Act
Divisional: NJSP Home | About Us | Recruiting | Division | Public Information | Services | News | FAQs | Contact Us
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey,
New Jersey State Police